Termination of Ethiopia, Guinea, and Mali from the African Growth Opportunity Act (AGOA) Program

CBP News; In accordance with Presidential Proclamation, dated December 23, 2021, the following sub-Saharan African countries are terminated from receiving preferential benefits under the AGOA Program, for goods entered or withdrawn from a warehouse on or after January 1, 2022.  The terminated countries are Ethiopia, Guinea, and Mali.  A copy of the Presidential Proclamation can be found at the following link: A Proclamation to Modify the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States and for Other Purposes | The White House.  The Automated Commercial Environment (ACE) will be modified to reflect this action.

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) recognizes that the disruption in the supply chain may have ongoing impacts on the date of arrival, date of entry and corresponding date of duty calculation, however, CBP is not able to extend the AGOA termination timeframe denoted above.

More as it develops.